The Zoo In Me

 

There’s an owl in my eyes,

there’s a monkey in my feet,

there’s a dragon in my bones,

and a bear heart keeping beat.

 

There’s a bird song in my throat,

there’s a lion in my locks,

there’s an elephant in my march,

and my strength is from the ox.

 

There’s a tiger in my teeth,

there’s a lemur in my dance,

there’s a fruit bat in my ears,

and a she-wolf in my stance.

 

There’s a menagerie in me,

and all these parts that you see,

I am them and they are free,

to roam my soul with all its trees.

Leave a Reply

