The Fateful Nap

So even after only one week there are far too many stories to possibly tell, but here is one of my favorites:

Everyday consist of lots of walking and exploring and my roommates and I are usually wiped out by the time we get back to the room. So one of these days (I can’t remember which, everything’s a blur) we were all taking naps in our rooms. There is no air conditioning in our dorms so I leave my window open for a breeze and it looks out over our courtyard. During this lovely nap, (if you know me you know I love a good nap) I was jolted awake by some very loud shouting. It sounded like a horde of boys cheering. Well grumpy little me went over to the window to figure out what the heck was going on. I leaned out and yelled at the first person I saw in the courtyard, “What are you yelling about!?” Immediately after I realize that I’ve just yelled at a lone boy sitting in the courtyard….reading.  “Um I think they are yelling about soccer?” he says. And I have the decency to blush, “Oh sorry” I say, and then, “What are you reading?” “Jack London’s White Fang,” he answers. I didn’t know what to say to that and as the sleepiness from my nap wore off I realized this was a strange conversation, one that I started by interrupting his reading and yelling at him from a window. I left the window but told the story to my roommates later and we started joking about the mysterious cute Jack London boy and if he would ever come to read there again.

 

He didn’t come to read there again, but he DID show up on our doorstep, asking about the girl who yelled at him from the window. It’s too funny how things happen sometimes. Jack London (or Tanner as we now know his real name) has become, in a week, one of our very good friends. He came over for dinner (which I cooked by the way- shocking, I know) played the guitar and talked with us for hours about books and music. And it all happened because he decided, unknowingly and unsuspectingly, to read right outside my window.

 

I love the people I am meeting here. I love the way I am meeting them. 

3 thoughts on “The Fateful Nap

  1. Dr. Candi says:

    So stinking’ happy for you and all of your adventures! You are right; don’t panic! You are doing it girl! You are going to school in South Africa! Haha!

Leave a Reply

